-->

Comments

« Pious Comment SpamHomeSay it in Seven Words or Less »

Email From a Scraper Site

Spam & Scam

Yesterday I noticed a scraper site whose filching had overtaken one of my site’s original entries. So I edited my .htaccess to block them.

This morning brings an email from them:

I remind you, that your RSS feed has been registered in -scraper site- database. -scraper site- is based on website RSS feeds.

Hourly our RSS parser reading new link from each registered RSS feed and publish it on our website. New links ranking system and search ranking system based on rank of the website in top referrers.

In total -scraper site- database contains 127 your links.

From the moment of your RSS feed registration, -scraper site- has sent to you 1206 hits.

If you want to take part in traffic trade, you should publish reciprocal link to -scraper site-.com and start to send visitors to us.

More you’ll send visitors to us, higher getting up your links in the list and you’ll get more traffic.

If you will not publish link to -scraper site-.com in 3 days, we’ll consider that you refusing from traffic trade with us and we’ll delete all your links from our database.

My logs don’t show so much as a single referral from them.

That registered bit reminds me of those envelopes that hope to fool you into thinking they are from the government.

Pretty ballsy.

How do you feel?

Feel free to share your feelings about Email From a Scraper Site. Please stick to the theme of the entry. Disagreement is fine. Homophobia, racism, and kindred expressions of hatred will be deleted. This site is one of my hobbies. I genuinely enjoy hearing from people and hate moderating or killing comments. Forthright disagreement is fine as long as it is civil.
My thanks,
Richard



--!>

The Register - Music and Media Biting the hand that feeds IT

  • Indies celebrate Independence Day Finding the sharing button

    Interview Did anyone, I wonder, ever buy just one Motown single? Or just one 2-Tone single? And while you're pondering... can you even remember what major label your favourite artist is on? Unigram, perhaps. Or Polycorpse.?


  • Virgin warns 800 punters for file-sharing 'Important. If you don't read this, your broadband could be disconnected'

    The BPI has written to 800 Virgin Media customers warning them to stop sharing music files or risk losing their broadband connection.?


  • Italian authorities raid alleged music filesharing forum Megaupload and Rapidshare link site targeted

    Italy's Guardia di Finanza has shut down forum site Downrevolution.net for offering links to pirated music, video and software hosted on popular filesharing sites.?


  • Family Guy creator's sellout to Google almost complete Two minute clips served with your ads

    Google is revealing new details on the recruitment of Family Guy creator Seth MacFarlane to attract prime-time television advertising dollars to web-only video content.?


  • Real researchers discover 'Music Without Limits' Otherwise known as DRM-less MP3s

    The DRM deathwatch continues. Today, Real Networks announced that its Rhapsody digital music service is selling DRM-free MP3s from all four major records labels, following in the footsteps of Amazon and Napster.?



Newsfeed display by CaRP